Working Double Time: Dos and Don’ts from Dual Degree Students

When I auditioned for the University of Michigan, I thought music would be my main interest. I carved out so much time and effort in high school for choirs, lessons, and musicals to put myself on that path. However, when I started university, I soon realized that I still harbored curiosity in several other subjects, including psychology. I also learned I was not alone in this divided interest and found comfort in the plentiful number of dual-degree students at SMTD. By my junior year, I officially became a dual degree student in voice performance and psychology. Although my eventual career goals are still shifting and refining, I know that my interdisciplinary studies in music and psychology will help me explore and utilize humans’ capacity for creativity. 

As a dual degree student, I often find myself bouncing between two pursuits, two worlds of people, and two campuses. Sometimes I feel pulled in two directions when scheduling becomes hectic with performances and conflicting classes. Although I love studying two subjects, I sacrifice not having time for performances or labs that someone with one major has time to do. I also commit myself to 18 credits most semesters and sometimes summer classes which limits my social and extracurricular activities. 

Even still, I have learned to view my education as a holistic experience where each degree builds positive skills to tackle the other. If you’re in a dual degree or considering one, here are the tips I’ve learned along the way to succeed in your holistic path.

My Dos and Don’ts

Passion:

Don’t limit your potential. Do follow your passions. A dual degree can be difficult, but if those areas spark your intellectual curiosity, don’t be afraid to pursue them. I hesitated for a long time to pursue my dual degree. I limited myself to music and thought I could never make another degree work as a sophomore. However, I was able to add a dual degree even as a junior because I took psychology classes before I even decided to follow that path. You may find that your interests overlap or interact toward your dream career. Meet with several advisors to figure out if a dual degree matches your priorities. 

If you are interested, make sure to discuss a realistic graduation timeline with your advisor based on what courses you have taken and still need to take. Be sure to consider financial costs. For many individuals, scholarships may not apply beyond four years, and taking more time may not be feasible financially. Some advisors will push dual degree students to take five years no matter what, but you have the ultimate power to decide what timeline works best for you. To speed up your timeline, you could investigate whether summer classes at a community college would qualify for any of your credits. Don’t let naysayers determine what path you take.

You could also speak with studio professors or other mentors to hear from a variety of perspectives. For some people, considering a minor or alternative path might make more sense. Ultimately, a dual degree is your choice and within your reach if you are willing to put in the time and effort.

Boundaries:

Don’t try to do everything. Do set boundaries! I always appreciate opportunities, but I only have so much time in my schedule. I’ve learned that it’s okay to say no to opportunities that don’t support your well-being. Boundaries help set clear expectations for myself and others regarding my priorities. My goals, although often academic, also include personal wellness like sleep, nutrition, and exercise. I usually have a hectic schedule, so I like to set a boundary for bedtime by 11:30 pm on most days. My roommates and I respect that boundary by limiting noise after a certain time or socializing earlier in the evening. 

Additionally, boundaries can help you say no to opportunities that don’t fit your priorities. For instance, when I plan my semester, I set a boundary for the number of hours I teach yoga. Although I could have squeezed in four weekly yoga classes this semester, I chose to teach one weekly class to accommodate more difficult coursework. 

Planning:

Don’t wait until the last minute to figure out what classes you need to take. Do plan ahead. When you start your dual degree, create a rough outline of which types and numbers of credits you will take each semester until your planned graduation. My rough outline made scheduling classes less stressful and helped me decide whether summer classes made sense for me. This outline will help you map out your courses so you don’t scramble to fit in any required credits before graduation. 

At the beginning of each semester, identify the specific credits you will need for the following semester early on. Course guides for future semesters are usually posted midway through the current semester. Take advantage of these course guides to plan your schedule, paying close attention to backpacking and enrollment dates to secure the courses you need. If you know there are course approvals or foreseeable conflicts, reach out to advisors and professors as early as possible to work out a solution. One semester, I had a required psychology class during part of my studio class. I reached out to my professors early on and found a solution that helped me maximize my time in both classes.

Joy:

Don’t get lost in the grind. Do find time for joy! Whether you enjoy going out with friends, watching the latest Netflix drama, or adventuring in the outdoors, make room for these moments. Joyful activities look different for everyone. Some people prefer to grind throughout the week to allow for longer activities and more downtime on the weekend. Others prefer to sprinkle in shorter activities daily or throughout the week. I like to do a mix of both. On most days, I make time to exercise for thirty minutes, cook a quick and nutritious meal, and curl up with a book fifteen minutes before bed – activities I truly love. I still work hard during the week to finish my homework so that I can enjoy the weekends visiting family, hanging out with friends, doing longer runs, or baking bread.

Goals:

Don’t leave your responsibilities for the last minute. Do set SMART goals. Even if you aren’t given a specific deadline, setting SMART goals can help you stay on top of your tasks. SMART goals are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Time-bound. 

For instance, musicians can use SMART goals to learn difficult sections in a new piece. The overall goal could be: I will practice measures 12 -32 for 30 minutes daily for 12 days; I will begin at 76 bpm and increase the metronome marking by 4 bpm each day to reach my goal of 120 bpm. This goal is specific to the piece and metronome markings, measurable with bpm and time, attainable using gradual increments, realistic, and time-bound for 12 days. To keep yourself accountable, try putting SMART goals into your calendar to set aside a specific time to work on those goals.

Sumedha’s Dos and Don’ts

Although my tips cover knowledge from my experience, I also gleaned some advice from another dual-degree student at SMTD. Sumedha Vadlapudi is a senior studying computer science and voice performance. Here are a few additional tips from her experience we’d like to share:

Collaboration:

Don’t try to struggle through a class on your own. Do seek help. Classmates can be an incredible resource for learning and studying together. Try making a couple of friends in your classes, especially the difficult ones. 

Sumedha notes, “It’s easy to feel imposter syndrome and feel like you’re the only one who doesn’t understand what’s happening, but odds are, you’re not the only one. There are probably people in your class who would be more than happy to have a study buddy!” 

There’s also no shame in seeking help for concepts that still seem difficult even after trying office hours. Look for individual tutors or check out similar resources on campus like the Sweetland Writing Center for writing assignments or the  Science Learning Center for science classes. Sumedha recommends this webpage for tutoring resources in electrical engineering and computer science (EECS) coursework.

Mental Health:

Don’t ignore your mental health. Do find time for mental health breaks. Sumedha shares, “Mental health has a direct effect on your academic performance whether it’s concentrating in class or finding the motivation to start a homework assignment or project.” 

When working on an overwhelming assignment, I’ve found myself reading the same sentence over and over again. Staring at your unfinished homework won’t help you succeed. As soon as you start feeling overwhelmed or burnt out, try taking a mental health break to reset your focus. Taking a break from an assignment to work effectively might seem counterintuitive, but breaks can help re-energize you to become even more productive. Even after a short fifteen-minute walk, I felt fresh and able to read through the area of my assignment that was giving me trouble.

Sumedha recommends, “meditation, yoga, catching up on sleep, going outside for a walk, listening to music, talking to friends/someone you trust, or even starting therapy.” Check out free opportunities to try yoga, meditation, and more with SMTD Wellness’s Mind Body Balance Program and YouTube playlist. If you’re looking for therapy, reach out to SMTD’s embedded CAPS counselor, Emily Hyssong (emhyss@umich.edu) to schedule an initial consultation. You can also utilize your free sessions with Uwill teletherapy when you use your @umich email.

What Now?

Managing two degrees may be overwhelming at best and downright frightening at worst. When I’m studying two subjects, it’s easy to feel inadequate in both. There’s always someone who is doing more than me in each subject, so sometimes, it feels like I’m not doing enough even as I’m stretched thin.

When in doubt, seek help! There are academic advisors, professors, classmates, and professionals who want to help you succeed. Each of those people has helped me at one point or another to see my path as holistic and purposeful. Sumedha reminds us, “Know that your scores and grades do not define you or how capable you are as a person.” You are a person outside of academics who deserves to prioritize well-being. Lastly, don’t be afraid to carve your own path with your interests. You might just find your niche!

Leave a comment