The Performing Athlete: Running Toward Your Goals

We as performing artists need to allow ourselves to carve out time for activities we enjoy to support our physical and mental well-being.

All my life, I thought I had to choose: musician or athlete. Classes, theatre productions, team practice, music lessons, meets, competitions… I struggled to juggle everything. Like many musicians, I dropped group sports in high school in favor of music lessons, choirs, a cappella, and theatre. Even so, I never stopped moving. Especially when COVID hit at the end of high school, I ran. I put one foot in front of another, whether my fingers numbed and my throat burnt in the dry winter air or whether my forehead dripped sweat in the summer heat. By my senior year of college, I accomplished something I never imagined I could do – I ran 26.2 miles, otherwise known as the marathon. 

Most people cannot fathom just how much time, money, and effort marathons require. Months of consistent training, early mornings, late evenings, expensive gear, hundreds of energy gels, half marathon races, and a voracious appetite that never ceases – these are just a few of the many facets of marathon training. Aside from the physical work, I put in mental work to reaffirm that I am a runner, I can finish, and I just need to focus on this next step. 

Understandably, this process strengthened me physically and mentally, both of which I expected. However, I also improved drastically in an unexpected area: as a performer. Before I trained for a marathon, I told myself, “I’m a musician, not an athlete.” As a vocal performance major at the University of Michigan, my mind fed me these simplistic, binary lies. However, signing up for the marathon confirmed that I am a runner and musician, and these aspects are inseparable components of who I am. 

When I recognized that I was a performing athlete, I took advantage of this combination of skills. My marathon training unknowingly gifted me invaluable improvements in many areas, including nutrition, sleep, confidence, grit, breath support, and posture, which also benefited my musicianship.

Nutrition & Sleep

Somehow, as runners, we justify prioritizing sleep and nutrition, but as performing artists, we let those aspects of wellness fall by the wayside. Just like training for a marathon, performing arts require hours of practice and effort both mentally and physically, all of which rely on quality sleep and nutrition. 

As performing artists, we can learn from athletes by viewing food as fuel and prioritizing balanced, nutrient-dense meals and snacks. When I began using food to support my growth as a runner, I also felt more energized for voice lessons and practice sessions. I started eating a more balanced breakfast like yogurt and granola with fruit, incorporating protein into snacks throughout the day like almonds or carrots with hummus, and increasing carbohydrate intake the days before a big race or performance. Try preparing a few nutritious meals and snacks on the weekends to grab and go before rehearsals. Check out the USDA’s MyPlate or this Performing WellCAST for tips on creating balanced meals and snacks.

A good night’s rest will also give you the energy to recharge after a lengthy rehearsal or before an important audition. During training, I aimed for at least eight hours of sleep with a consistent bedtime of 11 pm, even on weekends. I occasionally left social events a little earlier to make my bedtime, but my energetic mornings rewarded me. 

An active lifestyle at least a few hours before bedtime supports these goals by tiring the body for sleep and stimulating metabolism. Performers can also take advantage of good sleep by experimenting to find a realistic bedtime and physical activity routine that works for them, especially in the weeks before a big performance. Take action by setting your phone away an hour before bedtime and carving out a specific time in your schedule for physical activity. Your body will thank you for it in the morning!

Confidence & Grit

At the center of my marathon mindset, I ran for myself. Even as hoards of people ran by my side, I only focused on accomplishing the race to remind myself that I could overcome an obstacle. I built the grit during training to keep pressing forward even when my mind whispered, “I can’t,” “I should just give up now,” or “I’m an artist, not an athlete.” When race day came, that grit blossomed into confidence. I learned to drown out negativity with positive affirmations like, “If I run, I am a runner,” “I am capable,” and “I have prepared for this.” 

I translated this inner confidence and grit to my performing life and started singing for myself rather than worrying about what others thought. These tiny shifts in mindset induced dramatic changes in singing. When I hit roadblocks in practice or in running, I took a break and tried again the next day. Prepare for a performance like a race, rejecting negative thoughts and embedding kindness into your practices. Try Dr. Kristin Neff’s self-compassion practices to build that inner confidence. Eventually, you can slowly build the grit to make it through the challenges along the way, and you’ll feel ready to tackle your next performance. 

Breath Support & Posture

As I developed a dedicated running schedule, I improved my endurance from week to week by gradually increasing my mileage. Before I realized it, I started to breathe easier on shorter runs and my maximum oxygen consumption tracked on my watch increased. I also grew stronger, especially in my legs and core, and I carried myself differently with relaxed shoulders and confident strides. 

Unsurprisingly, these physical changes improved my singing posture and breath support. I especially noticed my improvement on a Schubert piece, “Die junge Nonne,” when I could finally sing through the agitated phrases, project further, and release physical tension in my posture as phrases ended on higher notes. Just like a race, I approached my singing with the same need for deep breaths and relaxed muscles to finish strong. Your performance requires energy, so check out the SMTD Wellness Playlist for videos on warmups, cooldowns, and activities that can help support the breathing and postural aspects of your performance.

How Can You Run Toward Your Goals?

We as performing artists need to allow ourselves to carve out time for activities we enjoy to support our physical and mental well-being. For me, I find running enjoyable, but for you, try exploring a variety of activities to find something that clicks. Even as a serious runner, I teach yoga and participate in a range of activities like swimming and cycling to keep me interested. No matter how you choose to move, putting care and attention into the functioning of your mind and body through physical activities can also improve your ability and confidence to perform in your artistry.

If you don’t know where to start, try going for a walk listening to your favorite playlist or talking with a friend. The free Nike Run Club and Nike Training Club apps also provide great guided walks, runs, workouts, and stretches with something for all experience levels. At the University of Michigan, Group-X Classes are affordable, in-person group fitness classes where you can try a variety of activities like yoga, cycling, total body strength, Zumba, and more. Home workouts and group fitness are also great ways to learn exercise techniques in safe spaces before trying them out in more public gyms.

Remember also that your performance IS an activity. Both performers and athletes experience self-doubt, hours of practice, and physical effort. Treating a performance how a serious athlete treats a race will help you to properly fuel, prioritize sleep, develop confidence, build grit, and improve outcomes like breath support and posture. 

As I prepare for my senior recital in the spring, I’m also dusting off my running shoes to greet the starting line of another marathon and better performances ahead. Whatever your next “big day” is in exercise or performance, prepare your body and mind for success so that you can meet your goal with a smile!

Leave a comment